Trust The Process Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/ Thu, 19 Apr 2018 11:14:31 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Mon, Apr 16, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-16-2018.html Conditions were BRUTAL! Last week, I was shooting for 2:55, but given the forecast leading up (cold/pouring rain/strong headwind), I dialed that back to an a goal of sub 3 and a b goal of getting into next year's race. I was running with a close friend today and it was his 10 consecutive so was fortunate to tap into his wisdom of the course/conditions. We started off the first 5k conservative. I pushed the pace a bit for the next 10k and wasnt feeling great at the 10 mile point. Around that time, my shoes got so water logged that the inside soles came unglued and were bunching up under the arch or my right foot. I had to stop around mile 11 to fix then had to stop again right accross from the Wellesley scream tunnell sitting on a guard rail to rip the sole out. Around mile 14, the same thing happened to my left shoe so had to stop to rip that out. Ran without soles for the final 12 miles, but actually made the shoes feel much lighter. I faired well through the first 2 newton hills, scaling the pace back a bit, but started feeling pretty bad after the 3rd hill. I fought my best through heartbreak than put in a quick mile or two through BC and entering Brookline. I was feeling really nad through the next few miles and realized 3:05 was going to be out for today. Once I got over the hill by the Citgo sign, I pushed the pace the best that i could or the final mile. I turned onto Boylston and tried to surge for the final .2-.3, my calves/hamstrings started locking up during the final 100 meters but i fought through the pain to finish. Hopefully the BQ - 4:24 is enough to get in for next year as I dont want to think about running another marathon until Chicago this October. Mile splits per my watch were: 7:15,6:53,6:53,6:40,6:49,6:36,6:41,6:50,6:46,6:51,6:57,6:47,7:18,6:51,7:37,6:41,7:15,7:15,7:02,7:11,7:33,6:55,7:08,7:19,7:30,7:36,6:50 (final .2). Mon, 16 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 14, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-14-2018.html 5.25 miles along the newton hills, 9:15 avg pace Sat, 14 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 13, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-13-2018.html 4 miles, 8:30 avg pace Fri, 13 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 12, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-12-2018.html 7 miles in 50:30 3 mile w/u 3 miles @ 6:31 pace 1 mile c/d Thu, 12 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 10, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-10-2018.html Took two days off since my right knee has been sore. 8 miles in 57:20 2 mile w/u 2 mile @ 6:35 1 mile @ 6:35 2 mile @ 6:35 1 mile c/d Tue, 10 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 07, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-07-2018.html 2 mile w/u 3 MP miles @ 6:35 pace 1 mile c/d Sat, 07 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 05, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-05-2018.html <p>5 miles, 8:28 avg pace</p> Thu, 05 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 04, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-04-2018.html 7 miles, 7:37 avg pace Wed, 04 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 02, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-02-2018.html 18 miles this morning in New Orleans before our flight home. 7:44 avg pace. Mon, 02 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 31, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-31-2018.html Great morning for a race in New Orleans, about 60 degrees at the start and little wind. I wanted to run this sub 6:00 pace and got just under that pace, but my pacing was a little too quick during the first 5k and hung on my best for the final 5k. Mile splits were 5:48, 5:52, 5:55, 6:00, 6:01, 6:01, 5:57 estimate for final .2. This one felt really good as it was a significant improvement since the 10k PR in Phoenix in early February. The speedwork has clearly paid off. Going to let loose a bit today post run in NOLA then two weeks of easy running before Boston. Sat, 31 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 30, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-30-2018.html 6 miles, 10:00 avg pace 10k tomorrow in new orleans Fri, 30 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 28, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-28-2018.html 10 miles, 7:30 avg pace Wed, 28 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 27, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-27-2018.html 8 miles, 8:20 avg pace Tue, 27 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sun, Mar 25, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-25-2018.html <p>Half Marathon today in Philly.&nbsp; It was cold today, about 30 degrees at the start with wind chill in the low 20s, &nbsp;so I decided to wear tights and a cold gear top.&nbsp; Wind was about 8mph from the north with gusts up to 15.</p> <p>The race went very well and my splits were pretty consistent given the wind and the one large hill around mile 8.&nbsp; I got a little side cramp around 7 miles while running into the wind so I struggled a bit up the hill and for a bit afterwards.&nbsp; The cramp went away as we hit the downhill and I picked up the pace a bit&nbsp;for miles 9-13 when we hit the turnaround and we had a bit of a tailwind.&nbsp;</p> <p>As the early miles felt good at the pace I was running, I decided to go for sub-1:23 which is the half marathon qualifying standard for my age to bypass the lottery process for NYC Mararthon.&nbsp; I had fallen off pace slighly after the cramp/hill mile, but picking up the pace for the final 4-5 miles got me under 1:23.&nbsp; It was a PR by about a minute that I ran about 4.5 years ago on a flatter course and I my time on this course last year was 1:27:09, so this one felt really good today.</p> <p>Splits per my watch were (first two miles are always off/too fast&nbsp;due to running downtown near the skyscrapers):</p> <p>6:08, 5:52, 6:12, 6:11, 6:19, 6:20, 6:18, 6:38, 6:16, 6:10, 6:09, 6:15, 6:11, 6:05 (final .1)</p> <p>I am right where I want to be 3 weeks before Boston (shooting for sub 2:55).</p> Sun, 25 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 23, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-23-2018.html <p>8 miles, 7:40 avg pace</p> Fri, 23 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Mar 22, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-22-2018.html 5 miles, 8:45 avg pace Thu, 22 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Wed, Mar 21, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-21-2018.html <p>12 miles in 1:23:10. &nbsp;Today was a hybrid interval/LT workout.</p> <p>3 mile w/u</p> <p>3 x 1 mile w/ .5 mile recoveries (5:42/8:00)</p> <p>3.5 miles @ 6:15 pace</p> <p>1 mile c/d</p> Wed, 21 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Tue, Mar 20, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-20-2018.html 10 miles, 7:40 avg pace Tue, 20 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Sat, Mar 17, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-17-2018.html 23 miles, 7:45 avg pace Sat, 17 Mar 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Mar 16, 2018 http://jonschap.fastrunningblog.com/blog-03-16-2018.html 8 miles, 7:30 avg pace Fri, 16 Mar 2018 06:00:00